Summer in a Jar

Saturday morning I enjoyed my breakfast on the back porch, looking out at the maple trees that are already beginning to turn. Toast with ginger peach jam, the result of a very long day of canning last Sunday.

I peeled and chopped about 12 pounds of peaches and mixed them with about 4 cups of sugar, the juice of 2 lemons, and a big hunk of fresh ginger, very finely chopped.  I cooked it down for what felt like a very long time, and then filled 15 half pints and 2 pint jars. My roommate came home in the middle of the peeling and the chopping and vats of boiling water and now thinks I am some kind of lunatic.

After all that I still had another 10 pounds of peaches. Earlier in the week I had read Eugenia Bone’s blog post about semi-dried peach jam and so I decided to give it a try. My cookie sheets were more crowded with peaches than hers were I think, so my final product wasn’t anything remotely jam like. Instead I’m calling them roasted peaches in syrup. I have five pints of them and they are going to be a delicious treat this winter.

2 thoughts on “Summer in a Jar

  1. Davo

    Looks delicious! Those dried peaches look especially tempting, so I read the article you linked. I have a question. After the peaches are dried, what else do you put in the jars before canning them? Obviously, you didn’t throw them in dry. What else is in there?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Well, mine didn’t turn out dried at all, so there was plenty of syrup from the sugar and the juice from the peaches in the pan to can them in. I think that in the original recipe, they still had a jam-like consistency so she just canned them like regular jam. But you might want to post your question over there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

