This week at the farmers market: 1/24/2009

farmersmarket012408

This week my friend Amy emailed me to see if I wanted to go to the farmers market together today. I wasn’t feeling too optimistic about what we would find there, but I hadn’t seen Amy in ages, so I figured why not? We tried a bunch different sheep’s milk cheeses. I got a piece of the regular aged one and Amy went the smoked variety. We each got a package of really delicious looking bacon and I got some eggs and some milk. When I went to pay for my onions I was surprised to spot something green. Among the onions and parsnips and rutebegas we found a bin of  what I think was called wintercress. It has a delightful peppery flavor, like a cross between watercress and mustard greens. Not bad for January.

One thought on “This week at the farmers market: 1/24/2009

Leave a Reply

