This week at the farmer’s market: 4/11/2008

It seems that I always get more or less the same things at the farmers market. Soon things will get more interesting. This week I came home with some milk which I’m going to use to make some rice pudding, I think. And some arugula and crimini mushrooms and some teeny, tiny potatoes. Some are smaller than your fingernail. Some are pink and some are purple. They’re just adorable. And some delicious Cato Corner Bloomsday cheese. Also I got some shallots and onions, but I forgot them in the bottom of my bag and by the time I found them I had already eaten half the cheese.

5 thoughts on “This week at the farmer’s market: 4/11/2008

  1. Chriss

    hi Kate I am curious, what were the potatoes like? I love rice pudding although I haven’t made it in years. Do you have a recipe?

    Reply
  2. kate Post author

    The potatoes are pretty similar to any other small, waxy potato, like fingerlings or yukon gold. Except they have a much higher skin to flesh ratio, so you have to really like potato skins (I do!). They’re great roasted.

    I’m working on a rice pudding recipe. If all goes well I’ll have it up later in the week.

    Reply
  3. eminor77

    I got some young and spicy mustard greens. I steamed them for about 8 minutes and dressed them with olive oil and salt and lemon juice. I thought they would be good with a little maple syrup but I didn’t know when or how to add that to the dressing. Do you have any suggestions?

    Reply
  4. kate Post author

    mmm I love mustard greens! I sometimes put maple syrup in my salad dressing with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and a little salt and pepper. But I’ve never tried it with cooked greens. I guess maybe i would mix it with the oil and lemon juice and then pour it over the greens. Or maybe I would sautee the greens in the oil and add the syrup toward the end, and then add a squeeze of lemon juice before serving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

