Cowboy Cookies

A few years ago my old roommate Leslie went camping in Ithaca and ate at the Moosewood Restaurant. She brought me back a copy of the Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts. There are quite a few recipes in there that have become old standbys that people ask me to make again and again. I’ve made the cowboy cookies so many times that the book’s spine is broken and it now flops open to that page on its own. I’ve made a few modifications to the recipe over the years, before settling on what I think is pretty much the perfect oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. I know 6 ounces of chocolate sounds pretty chintzy, considering that just about every recipe calls for 12 ounces, but really these are plenty chocolaty. And I’m not one to skimp on the chocolate.

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 6 oz. dark chocolate (I used Green&Blacks 70% Dark Baking Bar), chopped

In a small bowl stir together the flour, oat flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside. Cream together butter and sugar in a large bowl until light an fluffy. Beat in the eggs and vanilla. Mix in the flour mixture. Stir in the oats, then add the chocolate and cranberries.

Drop tablespoons of dough on cookies sheets, spaced a couple inches apart. Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 to 12 minutes, until golden brown.

I have managed to convince myself that it’s ok to eat these cookies for breakfast (because, you know, its just like eating a bowl of oatmeal). So to prevent myself from eating cookies every day for breakfast for a week, I’ve started freezing most of the dough when I make a batch. You can form the dough into balls on a cookie sheet and then throw the whole pan in the freezer. Once the dough is frozen, transfer the dough balls to a big plastic bag. That way you can bake a few cookies at a time (in the toaster oven!). They can go right into the oven without thawing, they just take an extra couple of minutes.

6 thoughts on “Cowboy Cookies

  1. kate Post author

    I recently found oat flour at the farmer’s market, but I used to grind it myself in the food processor.

    Reply
  2. Patrick

    Mardele would always agree with cookies for breakfast, its the same ingredients as pancakes!
    (we put chocolate chips in the pancakes at her house)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Cowboy Cookies (A More Healthful Version) « Pragmatic Attic

Leave a Reply

