muffins!

muffins1.jpg

Yesterday out of nowhere I had a strange craving for bran muffins. I thought long and hard about what they should be like. They needed some kind of delicious chunks. Well, maybe not chunks. Bits. Delicious fruity bits. I hate raisins. I have a vague memory of my mom eating something called date nut loaf with cream cheese for lunch when I was little. Dates? I don’t know if I like dates. I don’t know if I’ve ever had them. But inside my brain I think they are the same thing as prunes and I definitely don’t think I like prunes. (Yes, I realize that this is not in fact true.) Fig newtons biased me against figs but lately I’ve come to realize that dried figs are actually really good. At first I found all the tiny seeds off-putting, until I made a conscious decision to like the seeds. Now I think they are crunchy and delicious.

muffins2.jpgmuffins3.jpgmuffins4.jpg


So here’s the recipe I came up with, based on about 10 other recipes I looked at.

  • 5 or 6 dried turkish figs, finely chopped (you should have about 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup)
  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup flour (all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, or a mixture of the two)
    • 2 tablespoons turbinado sugar
    • 1/4 cup honey
    • 2 eggs
    • 1 cup plain yogurt
    • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

    Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease your muffin pan.
    Mix together the figs and the wheat bran and add the boiling water. This will soften it all up a little bit. Set aside.

    Mix together the dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients and mix just until everything is well combined. Fold in the fig and wheat bran mixture. Spoon it into your muffin tin and bake them till they’re done. I wasn’t paying attention to how long it took. Maybe 20 minutes? My muffin tin makes 6 muffins that are a little bigger than regular muffins.

    They are very delicious. I want another one.

    7 thoughts on “muffins!

    1. teddy walls

      As a youth, I once went to some kind of weird after school first aide baby sitting class at a church by my middle school and they used what looked like the inside of fig newtons to represent the poop on the fake babies we had to change. Ever since then, man, gross. But as an adult, I like figs now too. Genius to put them in a muffin! I’ll have to try this one too.

      Reply
    2. xstarnostarsx

      Figs still weird me out-it’s the appearance I suppose. But in a muffin? I think I could deal with that (my favorite bran muffin recipe has mashed bananas in it).

      Reply
    3. Chrissy

      The muffins sound scrumptious, I think the kids will like them too. We have never made anything with figs except for the Ancient Greek feast Grace had a school…the kids actually liked the figs! and the dates. (they’re sweet)I do remember mom eating the nut date loaf… i think Mom ate it on “brown brown bread”. One of those Mom things, something she could enjoy in peace without anyone wanting it.

      Reply
    4. Pingback: wonderment » Blog Archive » Keeps ya regular

    5. Pingback: A fig tree grows in Brooklyn « cooking the hard way

    Leave a Reply

    