In the Garden

One very cold Saturday morning back in March I stood outside in a long line to sign up for a community garden plot. In exchange for about twenty bucks and two hours of community service you get a 20 x 20 foot plot in which to grow whatever you want, and many friendly neighbors who will offer you extra seedlings they don’t have room for, water your garden when you go on vacation, and tell you how nicely your peas are coming along. Not a bad deal.

I’ve been spending most of my free time there lately spreading compost and watering and doing lots and lots of weeding. I woke up this morning to pouring rain and unseasonable cold so instead of heading over to the garden I went to the bookstore to look for a good vegetable cookbook. Between the garden and my CSA share, I know I’m going to be a little overwhelmed by the bounty and I figured a new cookbook couldn’t hurt. What I came home with is quite possibly the most beautiful cookbook ever printed, Tender by Nigel Slater. It’s an encyclopedia of the vegetables he grows in his backyard garden in London, how to grow them and how to eat them. The recipes all sound delicious, and it’s full of beautiful photographs. It’s a perfect cookbook to read on a rainy late spring day while you daydream about the wonderful vegetables you’ll be harvesting and eating in the coming weeks and months.

Here are a few pictures I took yesterday. It seems like most things have gotten off to a slow start, but all of a sudden everything seems to be doubling in size every couple of days, so I think before long there will be more green than brown in the pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

