Zucchini, Corn and Tomato Fritters

This recipe is pretty much the reason I started this blog. When I first made these fritters last summer I thought they were so good I needed to tell the whole world about them. I had made zucchini fritters many times before with shredded zucchini and not much else and they were always bland and soggy and generally disappointing. Then I realized that my approach to the batter was all wrong, and that they needed some more flavorful ingredients.

Of course it took another six months for me to get around to starting the blog, and a year later it’s fritter season again. For the life of me I couldn’t remember how I made them last year, but I think what I came up with is pretty close.

  • 2 or 3 medium-small zucchini, julienned
  • the kernels cut from one ear of corn
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 very small red onion, finely chopped
  • a handful of fresh parsley leaves, finely chopped
  • a handful of fresh basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • salt and pepper
  • oil for frying
  • plain yogurt for serving

Cut up the zucchini first and toss it with a little salt. Wrap it in a clean dish towel and set aside while you prep everything else. Combine the corn, tomato, onion, parsley, and basil in a large bowl. In a separate small bowl, stir together the flour and baking powder. Now take the towel with the zucchini in it and wring out some of the moisture. Add the zucchini to the other vegetables and toss well. Stir in the flour mixture and some salt and pepper. At this point it will seem too dry, but just let the mixture stand for about 15 minutes. The vegetables will release enough water to moisten the flour and make a thick batter.

Heat some oil in a skillet over medium heat. When the oil is hot, drop heaping tablespoons of the batter into the skillet and spread them out thin. If they’re too thick they’ll be gummy in the middle. Cook a couple minutes until browned on the bottom. Flip and cook until the other side is brown. Transfer to brown paper to drain. Serve with plain yogurt for dipping.

These are best eaten right off the stove as soon as they come out of the pan.

9 thoughts on “Zucchini, Corn and Tomato Fritters

  1. meg

    I went to the Atlas Park farmers market for the first time. While it is mere bike ride away it has a disappointing limited selection, but I did pick up unknowingly the ingredients to your fritters, I can’t wait to try it. It all looks so tasty!

    Reply
  2. christa

    this recipe makes me want to skip out of work, head to fairway and spend the rest of my afternoon making these. They look so good.

    Reply
  3. croquecamille

    Sounds fantastic! When I was a kid I loved to make “corn oysters,” basically eggy fritters. With the zucchini as abundant and delicious as it is right now, I’m going to have to bust out my old recipe and give it a tweak!

    Reply
  4. Laurel

    I happen to buy all of the ingredients for this at the farmer’s market here in Chicago (our beloved Green City Market) on Saturday and found your recipe yesterday. I made the fritters last night and they were delicious. I think I doubled the corn and added some shallots. We thought a roasted red pepper sauce would go well with these. My “julienning” was embarrassing but the fritters were forgiving of my poor knife skills. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
    -Laurel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

