This week at the farmers’ market: 3/29/2008

Going to the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings has kind of become one of the highlights of my week. I always end trying things I would never pick up in the supermarket (or that would never show up in the supermarket) and I like getting to know who’s got the best garlic or lettuce or bacon. So I was thinking I’d start reporting on what I end up with each week. And I thought maybe some of my correspondents might like to report back on what they’re finding at their farmer’s markets. Or better yet if you’ve got some dirt maybe you can tell me about what you’re growing. Send me a picture and tell me what you’re going to make.

farmersmarket329081.jpg

This week I brought home some herbs – parsley and lemon thyme. A few sprigs of each went into a pot of chicken stock (more on that later). The rest I’ll try to keep alive for a while. 2 quarts of milk – one will turn into yogurt tonight. Some really good bread and some chevre. The lamb people lured me in with all their gorgeous hand-dyed yarn. I bought some hunks of lamb which I think I’ll braise, maybe with a few of those crimini mushrooms.

Also, perhaps the most important reason to buy your food from people you can get to know: Did Your Shopping List Kill a Songbird?

3 thoughts on “This week at the farmers’ market: 3/29/2008

  1. Laura

    Hello!

    I work with farmers’ markets and farm shops in UK and love your idea of commenting on your purchases at the farmers’ market. Do have a look at our websites http://www.farma.org.uk and http://www.farmersmarkets.net and let us know what you think – we’re always working hard to get the local food message out to members of the public, and keen to hear your thoughts and ideas. If I can be of any assistance, feel free to email me at the above address.

    All the best

    Reply

Leave a Reply

