Sprouting Sprouts

sprouts7.jpg

Today I’m going to show you how to grow your own sprouts! All you need is a big jar, a piece of cheesecloth, a rubber band, and a towel. It’s like magic. You can sprout just about any kind of seed, bean or grain. This was my first attempt, and I sprouted black lentils and quinoa, because that was all I had in the house. I also threw in some brown rice. I had a feeling the brown rice wouldn’t sprout, and I was right. Next time I’m going try chickpeas and mung beans. You can even do vegetable and herb seeds. Radish sprouts are spicy and delicious.

Put some seeds in the jar. I used a half a cup, which pretty much filled a quart size jar once they had sprouted. I might use less next time. A quart of sprouts is a lot of sprouts.

Pour some water into the jar. Cover the seeds by about an inch or so, and cover the mouth of the jar with cheesecloth. Let them soak for a few hours or overnight. Pour off the water and give your seeds a good rinsing. Drain again. You want them to be wet but not standing in water. Place the jar on its side. prop up the bottom a little so the mouth of the jar is tipped down. Cover the jar with a towel and leave it alone.

sprouts1.jpg

Give the seeds a good rinsing at least twice a day, 3 or 4 times a day is ideal. Within a day you’ll see some seeds starting to sprout. They’ll be ready after about 5 days or so.

sprouts3.jpgsprouts5.jpgsprouts6.jpg

Then you can make my favorite sandwich– hummus, avocado, cucumber and sprouts, a pinch of sea salt and a splash of balsamic vinegar on a whole wheat pita.

sprouts81.jpg

 

10 thoughts on “Sprouting Sprouts

  1. Jennifer

    WOW! I bought a package of some kinda sprouts a while back. I never did anything with them because I was worried I wouldn’t do it right and i would get sick. The seeds have probably lost their viability by now, but I am going to at least try using your method. I love sprouts!!!

    Reply
  2. Ryley

    My MIL grows her own sprouts too.
    She always soaks them over night (only about 3 TBSP) keeps them in a dark cupboard. Rinses them the next day, and still keeps them in the cupboard. She rinses them twice a day unti they have sprouted to where she wants them.
    It works really really well.
    Try that and see how you like it..

    Reply
  3. Madeline

    Ha!!! This is so exciting, I’m currently on day three of a chickpea, adzuki bean and lentil mix. It’s looking great. I’m seriously like a kid in a candy store right now, I’m so excited!

    Reply
  4. DAVE

    I have heard that it is not OK to sprout tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, etc (NIGHTSHADES).
    They are toxic.
    CAREFUL TEDDY!

    Reply
    1. Ellkay

      Yes – that’s because you can only sprout plants whose leaves are safe to eat! The green parts of nightshade plants (i.e. all parts of the plant apart from the fruits, including tomato, peppers and eggplant, or the tuber, in the case of the potato plant) are toxic.
      Mental note: if the plant is toxic, its sprouts will also be toxic.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Tempting! Links to Fabulous Food « A Life (Time) of Cooking

Leave a Reply

