groundhog day lasagna

lasagna-2.jpg

Every February Emily makes me watch Groundhog Day with her. Ten minutes into the movie I am always overcome with a feeling of dread. All those days to get through. I fear the tedium. I wonder if I can possibly stand to watch Andie MacDowell for an hour and a half. Which brings me to lasagna.

1.jpg3.jpgassemblylasagna-3.jpg

We had been talking about making lasagna for months now. Saturday was the day. I called Emily to see what time she was coming over. She suggested 7. I started to panic. Having read this, I feared we would be still be rolling out noodles at 4 in the morning. We decided to make it 5. We had also been talking about making cheese, and I figured if we were going to spend twelve hours making lasagna why not spend another hour making ricotta?

As it turns out making ricotta is very, very easy. 4 parts milk. 1 part buttermilk. Heat it up. Marvel at the curds that form right before your eyes. Drain.

We rolled out the noodles in less time than it took to boil a pot of water. We tried to go all the way up to 7 on the pasta machine but the dough started to rip. 6 was thin enough. We wondered if we’d like to do this for a living. We layered the noodles with tomato sauce, our delicious homemade ricotta, and some mozzarella from the farmer’s market.

lasagna-5.jpg

In less than three hours we were eating. And it was so delicious. Perhaps the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten. Emily said, “Before I had this lasagna I was so sad. Now I believe in God.” We had seconds, then thirds. We watched Groundhog Day, which I guess is an ok movie despite Andie MacDowell.

 

8 thoughts on “groundhog day lasagna

  1. DAVE

    BILL MURRAY HAS NEVER MADE A BAD MOVIE.
    EXCEPT MAYBE “WHERE THE BUFFALO ROAM” OR GHOSTBUSTERS 3 IF THERE IS ONE.
    AND WHERE THE BUFFALO ROAM ISN’T REALLY A BAD MOVIE.

    Reply
  2. Pam

    Katie: Your mom told me about this “blog” at lunch today. So here I am checking it out. As to lasagna, my mom used to make it with ronzoni store bought noodles but used meatballs in the making and we (my sister Christine and I) had the job of rolling sometimes more than 120 tiny 3/4″ in diameter meatballs that we’d drop in the simmering sauce for cooking. She also used parmesan cheese as well as mozzarella and ricotta. She served it with a large green salad and a home made loaf of crusty french/italien bread. It was a meal – a delicious one. A good memory.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Butter &┬áLasagna « IndieQuill

Leave a Reply

